The formation of the Pee Dee Conference and the Cheraw-Bennettsville District had its start as part of the South Carolina Annual Conference which was organized by Bishop J. J. Clinton (accompanied by Revs. W. J. Moore, F. B. Moore, and Thomas Henderson, from the North Carolina Conference), March 24, 1867.

Horace Clinton and Titus Hogans walked through the country from Lancaster County, S. C., to New Berne, N. C., to meet the North Carolina Conference in 1866. They were received and ordained deacons, and sent back as missionaries. It was then agreed to set off the South Carolina Conference.

This Conference had rapid growth. There were about one hundred churches. The Pastors in this Conference had the laudable ambition to keep this Conference abreast with the foremost in the connection. Certainly no Conference had been more loyal to our connectional institutions. The Book Discipline, the Star of Zion, the College, and the Church School department, all received great encouragement from the South Carolina Conference. This is the more praiseworthy when we consider that the Lancaster High School, which was only second to Livingstone College itself, is located in this Conference. The Conference was divided and the Palmetto Conference was set off.

As the churches in the state continued to increase, it became necessary to set off Pee Dee Conference from the South Carolina Conference, November 19, 1919, at Lancaster, S.C. by Bishop R. B. Bruce. The conference extended 200 miles from Cheraw to Charleston, S.C. The first Annual Conference was held in Cheraw, South Carolina in 1920.

To date the Pee Dee Annual Conference consists of two Presiding Elder Districts, namely the Cheraw-Bennettsville District and the Lancaster District.

Social Media
Follow us on Facebook! Follow our TweetsFollow us on Facebook and Twitter

Give via PayPal
Give via PayPal